Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Books on Shaolin Temple, Wushu, PRC

Hello, fellow forumers!

As some of you might know, I'm a student of Chinese language and culture in the Helsinki university. This semester is my third one, and I'm moving ahead in my studies to gradually start preparing for my thesis. Although I still have a LOT of studying to do before I get there, in the Finnish university system for every student there are typically three big essays before the thesis. These are meant to help improve skills in research and scientific writing.

Right now I'm starting work on my first big essay (pro-seminar essay), for which I've chosen a subject: I wish to examine the evolution of the traditional Chinese arts and people's perception of them - especially the esoteric and fighting arts - by concentrating on the destruction and rebuilding of the Shaolin temple in the 20th century; what kind of circumstances affected this; how were the traditional arts affected in practice and in people's perception of them; what were the reasons and circumstances behind Chinese government's promotion of modern Wushu and rebuilding of the temple; what were the overall effects of this etc. etc.

I know this is a vast subject, but I'm hoping to focus in different aspects of it in later essays of the same subject (the same subject matter for successive essays is encouraged in our school).

As I'm gathering research material right now, I'd like to ask your help in finding the right titles. Do you know any good books on the following subjects:

- Both (or either) of the Shaolin temples. History, traditions, different periods, influence, evolution etc.

- The history and origin of modern wushu.

- The new-found promotion of different facets of Chinese tradition after the cultural revolution in China.

- Actions and attitudes towards the Shaolin temples by the Qing dynasty, Chinese national government and the People's Republic of China, and vice versa.