Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning from a Grandmaster vs learning from a book

Dear all,

I am starting this thread to talk about my experiences learning, or rather not learning, Shaolin Wahnam Chi Kung from a book. I made a reference to that in a reply to Jeffrey, here

I mentioned that I made a mistake learning from Sifu's book. This needs a bit of clarification.

I started learning from Sifu's book a few months prior to my first course. I could learn from the book in the sense that I learned the technique of Lifting the Sky correctly. I could not, however, generate an energy flow. The main reason for this, of course, is that I did not have the skill of entering a chi kung state of mind. I did not end up doing it wrong, like Jeffrey, as I did not add anything to the instructions. I just ended up doing a technique.

Maybe I could have generated a bit of energy flow after a year or more if I had not taken any courses with Sifu. But that is a big maybe and I might well have given up long before as nothing much happened.

"There really is no substitute for finding a great Master if you really want to learn the Art." That was my first thought after my first hour at Sifu's course. Comparing the two, learning from a book and learning from a Grandmaster, I can say that what I did before really had as much to do with Chi Kung as playing football. In order to do Chi Kung, you have to generate an energy flow and that I could not do. In that sense I might as well have been playing football.

There was, however, something very good that came of it: the wow-effect. Because I really believed until then that I had been doing Chi Kung. To then experience the true wonders of real Chi Kung, that was simply amazing.

If you have similar experiences, or completely different ones, then I invite you to share them here.

Best wishes,

Roeland Dijkema
    www.shaolinwahnam.nl
    www.shaolinholland.com

Hi Sihing,

Good idea for a thread.