Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Shaolin Journey - Part 1

Dear Shaolin Wahnam Family,

It seems the right time to share the writings about my experiences and practice during these past year. I started just one year ago and I would like to share them with you. They are not statements of truth but just thoughts and reflections of my journey in this beautiful path. I hope you enjoy them! :-)

01/09/2013

Second Shaolin Law: “Required to train the Shaolin arts diligently, and as a pre-requisite, to be physically and mentally healthy.”

The more I train the more I understand why this is one of the 10 Shaolin Laws. From direct experience, I understand how health can greatly affect my training, life and progress.

I still remember when I started practicing Shaolin Kungfu back in 2010. I didn’t take it to the level I am taking my Taijiquan now. I can clearly see how different my practice was by then. I am now far more aware of Chi and Chi Flow during my practice. I am also aware of many things that I wasn’t before. For example, the 6 harmonies. How special is my practice and life whenever I am able to feel those 6 harmonies!

The interesting thing is that the deeper the practice gets the easier is to over practice or to deviate in my practice. Before, I could easily train 45 minutes and everything was alright. Right now, if I practice Taijiquan every single day I feel over training straight away and I will have a very uncomfortable cleansing. In fact, if my sessions last more than 15 minutes for many consecutive days I will go through serious adverse effects. Sifu is so right when he mentions that “Many times less is more”.

Surprisingly, right now I just practice Flowing Water Floating Clouds Set once or twice a week. That seems to be more than enough for my level of development. I can clearly see that if one has deep blockages the amount of energy that this set is bringing could have serious negative effects.