Shaolin Xinyiba

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaolin Xinyiba

I think this is the right place in which to pose this question if it is not I apologise beforehand. My query is about a Shaolin art called Xinyiba. This art is of great interest to me because I am a student of Yiquan/Dachengquan and the founder of this fist method, Master Wang Xiangzhai, learnt Shaolin Xinyiba in the 1920's at Songshan from a monk called Henglin (aka Changlin or Xianglin). Moreover, Master Wang taught that Shaolin Temple was the fountainhead of Xinyiquan which he said was the most orthodox interpretation of all Xinyi/Xingyi forms. This has always made me curious as to what Xinyiba actually is and how moreover it has influenced the development of Yiquan.

I have tried looking for information about Xinyiba but in my searching I have found only one place which claims to teach Xinyiba: The Shaolin Wugulun Gongfu Association, and although their website goes into a little detail about the concepts behind Xinyiba they (understandably if it is indeed the legendary art they're teaching) say very little about its form. However, I have found some videos of the head of the Wugulun lineage Shi De Jian practicing Gongfu. Trusting the Wahnam lineage implicitly I was hoping one of this message boards Shaolin masters could tell me whether or not what Shi De Jian is doing in these videos is Shaolin Xinyiba?:

Shi De Jian #1
    Shi De Jian #2
    Shi De Jian #3

Thank you
    "Isn't it a pleasure to study and practice what you have learned?"--Confucius, the Analects

Hey Crosshands, welcome!

Keep in mind that I am not a Shaolin expert or a Wahnam Sifu.

I am not sure about the first two clips, but the third clip looks a lot like Monkey Kungfu. If you do a search on Sifu Wong's main website in the video section, you can find some clips of Sifu Wong performing the Monkey set. Although the form may not be the same, I think the essence of the monkey movement is there.